God makes my paths straight.

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways acknowledge him,
and he will make your paths straight.

This one verse has spoken so much to me this year. Tonight at work, in the middle of ringing up customers, an overwhelming sense of joy invaded my heart. It wasn’t because I knew the customers or anything, but I simply just loved being in that moment, helping them and making them happy. A handful of my co-workers have started to call me “Smiley” because I’m always smiling.

In two weeks, I will have been at this job for four months–longer than my time at jobs where it made perfect sense for me to work. When I was applying for jobs a few months ago, I applied to many, many, many places. When I applied to my current job, I felt so under qualified. In my own mind, I never would have said, “Oh, I WANT to work here.” I never could have pictured myself saying, “I love working here.” Thankfully, my steps are directed into the paths of God, and not my own paths. I can’t make my paths straight on my own. Yes, I still deal with frustrating customer situations. Yes, some days seem to drag on. But my heart gets encouraged so much almost every day I go in to work. An encouraged heart at a job where I’m paid to be helpful, friendly, and smile? I’ll take that any day. Becoming friends with my customers and co-workers is an added bonus.

Is it my dream job? Nope.
Do I see myself staying there forever and ever? Nope.

But it is where God wants me right now, without a shadow of a doubt. When it is time for me to leave, He will show me and then guide me into the next path that He has planned for my life.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

