A Picture Is Worth a Thousand Words

Reverb10 prompt: Photo – a present to yourself Sift through all the photos of you from the past year. Choose one that best captures you; either who you are, or who you strive to be. Find the shot of you that is worth a thousand words. Share the image, who shot it, where, and what it best reveals about you.

I did something in 2010 that I will never do again. I received my undergraduate degree.

My sister took this picture of me after graduation. I was waiting for my friend Jenna to text me back. My sister and I realized that I needed some good potential shots for facebook, so she started shooting. This turned out to be my favorite.

Graduation is a very special occasion and the last hurdle to be cleared (at least in current American culture) in order to be seen as an adult.
My college experience has looked a lot different than what I imagined my junior and senior years of high school. I graduated a semester later than I originally planned to; I attended a different college than I initially wanted. I received my first final grades of Cs, which completely shocked the perfectionist, fight-for-a-tenth-of-a-point-on-an-exam part of me.

Even though I knew how privileged I was during my studies, I let myself “forget” it. I couldn’t see how I was “rich” and “lucky to be attending school.” I mean, I was taking out student loan after student loan. And besides, isn’t college just the next step of education after high school? It’s expected, right?

It’s expected if you are privileged enough to live in a well-to-do nation. It’s expected if you’ve done well in academics.

Graduation from college defines a person’s schooling, but does not define a person. I could go on and on about what I’ve learned and how I’ve grown throughout college. I could whine and complain about how I don’t know how I’m going to get a job with a degree.

But I’m going to do neither. What I am going to do is just praise and thank God for this opportunity that He’s given me. I’m going to thank Him for allowing me to even have a job. I’m going to savor this moment. I don’t know where the future will lead me, but I do know who I am following to get there–Jesus Christ, the Son of God; the Alpha and the Omega, the One and Only; the Holy Lamb of God. I’m putting my trust in Him, because He is the Way. He is the Truth. He is life.

John 10:10 I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

Categories: 2010 in review, Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A Picture Is Worth a Thousand Words

  1. leeleegirl4

    Look, you can see the caution wet floor/ sidewalk path thingie signs in the background lol.!

  2. leeleegirl4

    Oops. I didn’t mean to use two types of punctuation.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

