2010, summarized

I’m going to be writing about 2010 using some prompts from Reverb 10. I’m not going to use every single prompt, and I’m not going to use them in order.

That being said….

Soul Food What did you eat this year that you will never forget? What went into your mouth & touched your soul?

I would have to say that the most memorable meal of 2010 would have to be the dinner at Sean and Jade’s wedding. Sean and Jade had their reception at a place called Ram’s Head Inn. To those who do not live in South Jersey, Ram’s Head Inn is quite fancy. It was far above the price range of a college student, especially considering most of my meals were eaten on campus and paid for with my meal plan. Sean and Jade’s wedding was probably the only chance that I’ll ever have to eat at Ram’s Head Inn. Before we ate, they had appetizers and drinks. Marcelle and I had to constantly remind ourselves to not fill up on appetizers.
Once it was time to eat, we were seated. Charger plates, different courses, waiters with white gloves who carried themselves in a very proper manner and said, “Pardon my reach” instead of “Excuse me”—I knew that I was out of my element. I was seated with friends, and we all admired and giggled about the prestige. We started with a soup course, which was followed by salad, and then the main course. After the main course was cake and coffee. Everything that I ate was prepared perfectly and was quite simply, delicious. I did not finish my entire plate. Of the courses, I remember the main course the most. I had Filet Mignon, vegetables, and a potato dish that I do not know the name of. I gave Kate my fish, if I remember correctly, since she doesn’t eat a lot of red meat (and I wasn’t going to eat it anyway).
The food by itself was memorable, but the day will also not be forgotten. It was a day celebrating the love that Sean and Jade have for each other. It was a day celebrating with friends. It was a day when Marcelle and I sang to Sean and Jade for their video, cracking up the entire time. It was the first wedding that I’ve been to that hasn’t involved family. It was a day that reminded me of the power, beauty, and permanence of love.

March 6, 2010

Categories: 2010 in review, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

