Journey to Adulthood

Only a few minutes earlier, I realized how close I am to being DONE with school FOREVER. It definitely is a weird concept to grasp. I remember being younger and thinking how COOL going to high school would be. College was something I could only partially understand. I had ideas of what college would be, and even those ideas astounded me. I couldn’t grasp the depth of knowledge that I would receive from college. College was a HUGE deal to the younger version me. I remember thinking it would be a huge deal to graduate college, because then I would FINALLY be a grown up.

A few minutes ago, it hit me. I’m living in the moment that I’ve been waiting for since I was a little girl. MY senior show will be in the art gallery in just over two weeks. I will have my work framed and on a gallery wall, just like in the picture. Come Friday, I will only have a month left of college…ever. Living in the moment now doesn’t seem as amazing as I thought it would when I was younger. When I was younger, I didn’t know of stress, worry, jobs; I didn’t know what “being a grown-up” would actually consist of. I remember feeling this way towards the end of my senior year in high school. I enjoyed the feeling, but I knew that I wasn’t really a “grown-up” yet–I still had college itself to experience.

Living in the knowledge that my life right now is a moment in time that I’ve waited years for is surreal. It’s hard to believe that it is actually happening. I want this moment to slow down so I can savor it before it becomes simply a memory. I don’t want to rush around and lose sight that I’m living out my dream, with this breath that is in my lungs right now. On the flip side, I’m also very excited to see what God has in store for me next. :]

Right now, I’m living out my dreams. I wouldn’t change it for the world. Dreams do come true. I am soo close to being a college graduate.

And I’m sleeping in SpongeBob pajama pants tonight.

Life is good.

Jeremiah 29:11-13 (New International Version)

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Journey to Adulthood

  1. leeleegirl4

    Love the picture

  2. It is great to be realizing a long held dream, congratulations and blessings! Your scripture verse is ONE of my many favorites of God’s word. Let that spur you on to the next sureal goal in Christ you will reach and surpass. In the natural, it is great to reach a long awaiting objective or destination, yet we know God has MUCH more in store for us on this journey in His kingdom.

    Blessings on YOUR journey!

    Jim

  3. leeleegirl4

    I still love that picture you drew when you were little 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

