Thirty Day (ish) Worship Journey–Day 4

Thirty Day (ish) Worship Journey—Day 4

Psalm 6:4

Turn, O Lord, and deliver me; save me because of your unfailing love.

 

Today’s phrase= unfailing love

 

God’s love never fails.  I can say that to be true not only because it is Scripture but because I’ve experienced it in my life.  In order to be fully able to say that His love never fails, it is necessary to be put in situations where we think it is possible for God’s love to fail.  Uncomfortable situations.  Situations that we would never choose to be in. Situations where the ground is falling out from under us.

 

God’s love didn’t fail me when my grandfather had cancer.

God’s love didn’t fail me when my mom had cancer.

God’s love didn’t fail me my freshman year of college, my toughest year in college.

God’s love didn’t fail me when my former track coach died in 2008.

God’s love didn’t fail me when my grandfather died suddenly in 2009.

God’s love didn’t fail me when my cousin’s son died after only two weeks of life.

God’s love didn’t fail me in high school when a friend of mine got in a car accident that she shouldn’t have been able to walk away from.

God’s love didn’t fail me when my mom and I got into a car accident in high school.

God’s love didn’t fail me when my grandmother had a mini-stroke when I was sitting right next to her.

God’s love didn’t fail me when I had an especially difficult week at camp in 2009.

God’s love didn’t fail me when I faced difficulties at camp this past summer.

God’s love didn’t fail me when I was overwhelmed with stress and schoolwork.

God’s love hasn’t failed me when I doubt Him.

God’s love hasn’t failed when I choose other things above Him.

God’s love hasn’t failed for my friend who is currently in the hospital from a very serious car accident this past Tuesday.  He’s still in Trauma ICU.  Aside from praying and comforting his fiancée, all I can do is trust in God’s unfailing love.  It hasn’t been easy by any means.   I am trusting in the fact that God is painting on a bigger canvas than I can ever see or imagine.  I am trusting that God will use this pain for good.  I am trusting that His name will be highly glorified through this situation.  I am trusting that God really is “close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit” (Psalm 34:18).

I’m reminded of a few additional things:

1.) Quotes from Louie Giglio at Passion::DC (part of the Fruitcake story for those who know Passion conferences)

we don’t have an option if there is pain in our life…the only option we have is if we’re going to use that opportunity to make Jesus famous, or whether in that moment, we’re gonna collapse under a theology that really wasn’t anything to start with and crumble under a faith that had never been tested by fire and have all the wonderful little statements we’ve made about God to shrivel up right in front of us because we’ve never really thought it all the way through.  and I want you to think it through with me today because your life has got some difficult days coming….in the midst of them, there is a God story to be told.  it might just be told the loudest in the midst of the pain in your life.

[“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”]

…He’s not talking about little bitty, piddly, “I can’t find my keys” trouble, He’s talking about heart shaking, faith shaking trouble.  The kind of trouble that when the bottom drops out on us and we don’t have any idea where to turn—THAT kinda trouble is the trouble He’s talking about here.

 

2.)

Carried you edit

Categories: 30 Day Worship Journey | Tags: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Thirty Day (ish) Worship Journey–Day 4

  1. leeleegirl4

    This is a cool post, but you should put up another one 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

