Thirty Day (ish) Worship Journey: Day 2

I know, I know, I’ve been slacking a little on this. Life has just been crazy busy and I wasn’t even near a computer at all this weekend to post.

Psalm 4:7

You have filled my heart with greater joy
than when their grain and new wine abound.

Today’s word= JOY

Many people think that joy and happiness are interchangeable. While these two concepts are related, they are not identical twins. Happiness depends on circumstances, which can change in an instant. Joy is a deep-seated emotion, built upon hope and confidence. Joy also reminds me of delight. The word delight reminds me of a message that I heard from Louie Giglio. Since “delight” is not in the common vocabulary today, Louie spent some time defining delight:

What is delight about? Delight is, you know, it’s horrible. It’s about delight. It’s about lighten up. It’s about that glow thing, that people looking at you funny thing, like, “What are you on? What are you doing? What’s your deal here?” You’re like, “It’s delight. D-E-L-I…G-H-T. It’s about the fact that God is doing something in me. I’m pursuing Him. I’m discovering Him. I’m after Him and when I get my hands on Him, I’m finding out that He’s really all that He says He is. I’m carving out priority for Him. I’m going after Him. I’m seeking for Him. I’m looking for Him. I’m making time for Him. I’m including Him and wanting to be included in Him. I’m choosing to put God in my heart, in my emotions, in my affections, in my decisions. In the daily flow of my life I’m going after God as a first choice prize. Not as some sort of tag-along, traffic cop for when I need some help, but I’m putting Him in first place in my heart and beginning to delight in Him.

Joy is permanent, especially when one’s hope and faith are in Christ. In my life, even when trials come, I find joy in Christ. Joy is why “smiling is my FAVORITE!” and why it’s hard for me NOT to smile. =] Joy is not easy to describe, but when it is in your heart, you definitely know!

Psalm 43:3-4

Send forth your light and your truth,
let them guide me;
let them bring me to your holy mountain,
to the place where you dwell.

Then will I go to the altar of God,
to God, my joy and my delight.
I will praise you with the harp,
O God, my God.

Categories: 30 Day Worship Journey | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

