Thirty Day (ish) Worship Journey: Day 1

Hello again, blogworld!

I’m embarking on something that will challenge me to blog more frequently and also to grow spiritually. The other day, I was flipping through Louie Giglio’s book, The Air I Breathe and saw something called a “Thirty Day Worship Journey.” The gist of the journey is to read in the Psalms every day, stopping when an attribute of God grabs your attention. The idea is to then meditate upon that particular aspect and write your thoughts about it. I’m modifying it a little bit from the description in the book, only so it has more meaning for my every day life. It’s called a thirty day journey, but so far, I’ve felt that I need to spend more than one day on what I discover in the Psalms. In addition, I’m both blogging my journey and keeping track in my personal journal.

I think that this is important because it is so easy to “set aside” time for God, read a few quick verses or even a chapter, and then check “God time” off of our to-do list. This mentality, while fitting well into our speed-obsessed culture, is ultimately very harmful to our relationship with God. Relationships thrive on communication and time spent together. I’ve fallen into this trap more often than I’d like to admit. I needed something more. Cue the thirty day (ish) worship journey. =]

Day 1

Psalm 2:12
…Blessed are all who take refuge in him
&

Psalm 3:3
…But you are a shield around me, O Lord…

With these verses, Psalm 63:1-2 also comes to mind:
My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress. I will never be shaken.

I’m also reminded of Jeremy Camp’s song, “My Fortress.”

Refuge. Shield. A place of rest for my soul. Fortress. God is who I run to when life doesn’t make sense. He is where I run when I am under attack by Satan, by my fears, by others, it doesn’t matter. He is my security. He is my protection and my Protector.

Earlier today, I was at a local framing store, getting a price estimate for my senior project. As I waited, I looked at the front desk. God’s timing is so cool. I looked down and saw this:

=]

Question for YOU: How has God been your protection and your Protector?

Categories: 30 Day Worship Journey | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

