Passion 2010 Day 2–Part 2

After meeting up with Jeremy Cowart, I met up with the rest of my group for dinner.  I could NOT stop smiling the whole night, especially whenever I was able to re-tell the story to someone in my group. =]  We ate dinner at the Hong Kong buffet that was attached to our hotel.  It was PACKED in there.  We definitely got there just in time.

Main Session-GWCC/cameras

The second main session of the day led our group to the Georgia World Congress Center.  I wasn’t as much of a fan of the GWCC main sessions/breakout sessions due to the layout, but that was just me.  During the security check before we got seated, I opened my bag.  The guy checking the bags asked if I had a camera bag in there, and I did, so I had to show him my camera.  I took it out, and he told me I had to go to another table and leave my camera there because it was professional.  I told him it wasn’t professional, but he simply said to go over there and to talk to them, since he was just doing his job.  I walked over to the other table and as soon as I got there, explained my situation.  I showed them that the lens did NOT come off, which is the general standard for a professional camera.  The two ladies weren’t sure, so they called over Larry, who I assume was their boss.  I explained the situation to Larry, and showed him that the lens didn’t come off and that it was just a point and shoot.  Thankfully, he let me through.  I thanked him and met up with my group (they waited for me) to get seats.  Since the majority of the GWCC is floor seating, saying that we got floor seats isn’t really that exciting.  A few minutes before the night started, I headed up front for pictures of the stage and to stake my spot.  As I approached the stage, another security guard approached me about my camera.  Knowing what it was about, as soon as he got close to me, I explained that Larry had said it was okay. This security guard didn’t want to let me have the camera, but once I told him that Larry said it was okay, he had to let me keep shooting.  Since I was already getting frustrated about my camera, when other people started to come up to the stage area, I let them have the center and made sure at least one person was always in front of me.

The session started, and FEE was the band in GWCC that night. I was excited, since I had never seen them live.  Once they started, some more people came up front, but something weird happened–there was ROOM to move around.  At Passion::DC, the only time there was this much room up front was at the very beginning of a session when people were still getting seated, during the message, and as people left.

This is a photo comparison.  The first one is my roomie during Passion::DC as we waited for a session to start up front.  The second is how much room I had during FEE at Passion 2010:

FEE was great.  I bought “Hope Rising,” the new CD from FEE with a gift certificate that I got for Christmas.  As soon as I got the CD, I couldn’t stop listening to it.  Even now, it is in my car and I listen to it ALL the time.

Fee

During this session, we were also told that because of some mistakes and miscommunication on Passion’s end, everyone with a red wristband and another color (I forget which one, honestly) would be able to see Hillsong United that night at the late night concert! Yay!

Francis Chan
The night’s message was from Francis Chan. We had a live video feed of his message. He talked about how VERY important it is to simply read the Bible for ourselves. He talked about Isaiah 66:2, which says

Has not my hand made all these things,
and so they came into being?”
declares the LORD.
“This is the one I esteem:
he who is humble and contrite in spirit,
and trembles at my word.

I had actually heard most of this sermon from watching Cornerstone Simi Valley’s podcast when I was home (and couldn’t attend church because of the snow), but it had more of an impact on me the second time around.

Defining photo
After the message, we sang a song or two of worship. I stayed in my seat for a few reasons: I knew I couldn’t get up front for it, I realized that I hadn’t spent a lot of time with my group that day, and also for a different viewpoint for photos. I took a photo that I honestly loved as soon as I took it. I didn’t know it at the time, but that photo would help me see the point of going back to school after Passion instead of just going right into missions.
awakening

Community Group
After the session, we went to our Community Groups. I didn’t know it, but that would be my last time attending Community group. By that point of the day, I was flat-out exhausted. The only thing that kept me going through community group was knowing that the Hillsong United concert was afterward. We had some good discussion in our family group, even though I thought that some of the questions were too personal to fully discuss with people who I didn’t know. Even so, I did discuss stuff, but not fully.

Categories: growth, Passion 2010 | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

