The Wonderful Cross

God makes me smile. A lot. =]

About six or seven years ago, my sister got this free DVD of music videos when she bought something else. I was 14 or 15 at the time. I remember watching the DVD and enjoying the newsboys video (even though I had the whole concert on another DVD), the Steven Curtis Chapman video, the audio a. video, the relient k video, etc. There were two videos that always stuck out in my mind though–videos that gave me chills when I watched them, every single time. Those two videos were “O Praise Him” by david crowder*band and “The Wonderful Cross” by the Passion band, featuring Chris Tomlin and Matt Redman. I had no idea what Passion was or any of that. In fact, in the video with Chris Tomlin and Matt Redman, for the longest time, I didn’t know who was who. All I knew was that those videos gave me God chills EVERY SINGLE TIME I watched them.

The other day, I had made a playlist on youtube, which included the version of “Wonderful Cross” that was on the DVD. Today, I watched it and yet again got the chills. I also found out that the part that was on the DVD was only a part of the whole video for that song.

The crazy part? Between when I first saw the DVD and watched those songs and got chills and when I got chills today, I have been through high school and am in college. I’ve heard of Passion, and have become VERY involved in the Passion world. I’ve been to a Passion event and am SO excited for Passion Twenty Ten. It’s just cool to look back and see that the two videos that impacted me the most are from a movement that God has used to play a big part in my life. =]

And that is today’s installment of “Why God Makes Me Smile.” =]

Here are the videos:



Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

