Overwhelmed for God

Yesterday, I spent the day in NYC with my sister and her boyfriend. The main reason that we went was for me to get a lot of shots for one of my photo classes for school (Senior Project–I figure it is good to get started early). In addition to me doing the whole photographer bit, we walked around, went to Central Park, and went into a few shops.

I had a good time and I got a lot accomplished, don’t get me wrong.

The entire time that we were there, I was looking around, observing people.

Even though I was in a great city with great company getting things done, there were many moments when I wanted to just stop and cry somewhere. You see, I can never see the world as “the world” sees it anymore. I try to view people as Jesus would.

When you try to see people as Jesus would, your heart hurts for every person that you pass on the street; every pair of eyes that you connect with.

When you try to see people as Jesus would, your heart zeroes in on those who are considered “unlovable.” Some friends and I have started doing street ministry to our less-privileged friends in AC. Since we have done that for a little while now, whenever I go anywhere, my “radar” for those in need of God’s love is always on. I wish I could have sat down and talked with the people that I saw yesterday about God. I wish I could have given them food. I wished I could have prayed for them. It made my heart unspeakably sad to just walk by like everyone else.

At other times, when we were in crowds, I would just pull back from the conversation and just think about the people that we were passing by–does this person know how much they are loved by God? How can I show them that as I’m walking past them? I also realized how truly big the world is, in regards to people who haven’t yet been changed by Love. It made me understand why in the Bible it says


Jesus went through all the towns and villages, teaching in their synagogues, preaching the good news of the kingdom and healing every disease and sickness. When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd. Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few. Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.”

I also thought of this song (among others):

I think I’m slowly starting to understand what it means to have my heart beating with the same passion and heartbeat of Christ.

Categories: growth, Uncategorized | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

