I Want A Heart That I Know Is Beating

Today, I had lunch with a former teacher of mine. In addition to being able to call her my former teacher, she is an encourager and a friend. We talked about life, about what we love to do, and pretty much everything in between. As I re-played the day in my mind, one thing stuck out to me: She absolutely loves life, and sees amazing potential for my life. She has the same enthusiasm for my life as she does hers. Those thoughts are supplemented by the current book that I am reading–“Creative Prayer” by Chris Tiegreen. It is a book that challenges me to re-think what I consider prayer. Chris emphasizes that prayer should be an experience involving all of our senses. Prayer isn’t just a mindset or a habit or a conversation–it is a way of life that involves every part of us. I’m reminded of Romans 12:1-2, where Paul challenges the believers in Rome (and also us): “So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. ” (taken from The Message). I think that truly living life, enjoying every moment, and making our lives an offering before God are connected. God doesn’t want us to give Him our lives and be bored for the rest of our lives. Exactly the opposite! In John 10:10, Jesus says,”‘ I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.'” We’re meant to enjoy our lives down here–some people have called our lives on Earth a dress rehearsal for Heaven, and I know Heaven will be happy, so it just makes sense to be filled with happiness and joy here. I’ve learned that sitting home doing nothing isn’t living, and isn’t satisfying for very long. I have big dreams for my life, and I want to live every day as best as I can. My friend, Megan, describes it better on her Facebook page: “Live everyday from the crack of dawn until you can’t keep your eyes open a second longer!” I want my life to be full. I want to have no regrets. I want to always try new things. I want to travel the world. I want to climb a mountain. I want to visit every US state. I want to learn to swim, maybe even scuba dive. I want to do so much, way more than what I’ve listed here (The only downside is that making all of those dreams come true is that they require money. I shouldn’t have to pay to make my dreams come true). We only have one shot at life, and it isn’t guaranteed for long. I want to make the most of my time here. I want to truly live.

Two Switchfoot songs for the occasion:

Meant To Live
Fumbling his confidence
And wondering why the world has passed him by
Hoping that he’s bent for more than arguments,
And failed attempts to fly, fly

We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
Somewhere we live inside
Somewhere we live inside
We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
Somewhere we live inside

Dreaming about Providence
And whether mice or men have second tries
Maybe we’ve been livin with our eyes half open
Maybe we’re bent and broken, broken

We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
Somewhere we live inside
Somewhere we live inside
We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
Somewhere we live inside

We want more than this world’s got to offer
We want more than this world’s got to offer
We want more than the wars of our fathers
And everything inside screams for second life

We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?
We were meant to live
We were meant to live

This Is Your Life
Yesterday is a wrinkle on your forehead
Yesterday is a promise that you’ve broken
Don’t close your eyes
Don’t close your eyes

This is your life and today is all you’ve got now
And today is all you’ll ever have
Don’t close your eyes
Don’t close your eyes

This is your life
Are you who you want to be
This is your life
Are you who you want to be
This is your life
Is it everything you’ve dreamed it would be
When the world was younger
and you had everything to lose

Don’t close your eyes
Don’t close your eyes

Yesterday is a kid in the corner
Yesterday is dead and over

This is your life
Are you who you want to be
This is your life
Are you who you want to be
This is your life
is it everything you’ve dreamed it would be
when the world was younger
and you had everything to lose

Don’t close your eyes
Don’t close your eyes

Awakening

Face down with the LA curbside endings
With the ones and zeros.
Downtown was the perfect place to hide.
The first star that I saw last night was a headlight
Of a man-made sky, but man- made never made our dreams collide,
Collide.

Here we are now with the falling sky and the rain,
We’re awakening
Here we are now with our desperate youth and the pain,
We’re awakening
Maybe it’s called ambition, you’ve been talking in your sleep
About a dream, we’re awakening

Last week found me living for nothing but deadlines,
With my dead beat sky but, this town doesn’t look the same tonight
These dreams started singing to me out of nowhere
And in all my life I don’t know if I’ve ever felt so alive,
Alive

I want to wake up kicking and screaming
I want to wake up kicking and screaming
I want a heart that I know is beating,
It’s beating,
I’m bleeding
I want to wake up kicking and screaming
I want to live like I know what I’m leaving
I want a heart that I know is beating,
It’s beating… it’s beating…
I’m bleeding

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

