Writing

Some of the people who read this blog know me, and some don’t. For those who don’t, a quick background that is in order for this blog to make sense: I’ve loved writing ever since I learned how to, and actually am a writing minor. People have told me that my writing is good, but I don’t always believe it. Sometimes, when I’m writing about God, the words just come. More than once, it has felt as if God is writing the piece and all I’m doing is pressing the right keys on the keyboard.

That being said, on a whim earlier tonight, I glanced over some of my writings from sophomore year of high school. That year, I had Creative Writing class in school. I looked over our final project, which was a compilation of poems that we had written. Revisiting the work 4.5-5 years down the road allowed me to look at it objectively and not just automatically think it is good because I wrote it and got a good grade on it. Some of the poems were good, some needed a bit of tweaking, some were God’s poems, and some were just…bad. Many good writers say that their early works are laughable bad. I’m not saying I’m anywhere near being one of the best writers, but I now understand that comment. It just shows how much I’ve matured since then, as both a writer and a person.

One big difference I noticed is the difference that having Christ in my life has made in my writing. I grew up in the church, but didn’t accept Jesus as my personal Savior until junior year in high school. Sophomore year, I was still searching, still questioning. My writings reflect that clearly. One poem in particular was pretty much just questioning my place in the world and the lack of peace I had in my heart. My teacher wrote in the margins, “By the time you get to college, others will follow your lead–honest.” At that time, I didn’t believe her. Seeing as I am halfway done being a junior in college, looking back, I can see that she was correct.

I’ve started to get back into writing recently. It is hard because of school, and since I haven’t written in awhile, I’m a bit rusty. However, my writings have a better tone to them as a whole, I believe, because I settled the issue of peace in my heart by letting Jesus be the Lord of my life.

I can’t wait to see how God continues to use my writing as I continue living for Him!

EDITI should clarify, God has used some of my writings to glorify Him already. I don’t want to boast about it, but facts are facts. If you are DESPERATE to know, e-mail me and I’ll get back to you. 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Writing

  1. leeleegirl4

    I know you. You’re my sister 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

